top of page

Wheels of Life.

Updated: Aug 23, 2020

Years ago in a studio in Dublin A teacher mentioned what a chakra was, and I was hooked! The whole system just made sense to me, I enjoyed listening to what each one represented, what colours are associated with each Chakra, I instantly started reading books, researching, I just craved to learn more and more, and I continue to learn. There is just so much to know, I feel it could take lifetimes!

What are Chakras?

Chakras are centres of energy, also know as wheels of energy, These points are also where we have nerve centres,major organs and major arteries. We have thousands of energy lines running through our body known as nadi's of which there are 72,000 in the human body and these 7 points are where the nadi's meets and create a vortex like centre.

There are 7 main Chakras (114 in total around the body) The 7 main chakras are located along the spine, starting from the base of the spine working all the way to the crown of the head. They are connected to our physical being as well as our emotional and spiritual states.

Each Chakra is connected to one another and if one become unbalanced the others may need to work harder to makeup for it which in turn unbalances our whole Chakra system.

Chakras can become unbalances from stresses and strains of modern life, which can lead to lack of physical, emotional and spiritual wellness.

Through Yoga and Meditation as well as many other modalities such as Reiki, Tai Chi, Shamanism, etc we can keep our system balanced and healthy.

So lets explore each Chakra.

Muladhara - Root Chakra

Represented by a red 4 petal lotus flower.

Located on the tail bone at the base of the spine.

Element: Earth

Beja/Seed Manta: Lam

Emotionaly connected to our basic survival needs, connection to our family/tribe, feeling grounded.

This is where we hold onto fear.

Physical: Root Chakra can affect the legs, feet and rectum. Immune system, the male reproductive system, you may also experience knee pain, sciatica, adrenal glands, eating disorders and constipation,

How can we get balance

Walking in our bare feet is a really simple way of feeling connected with the earth.

Yoga Poses:

Tadasana - Mountain pose

Prapadasana - Toe Squat

Virabhadrasana II - Warrior II

Svadhishthana - Sacral Chakra

Represented by an orange 6 petal lotus flower.

Element: Water

Bija/Seed Mantra: Vam

Located in the centre of the pelvis.

Emotional: Guilt and Shame are emotions associated with this area, as well as our passion and pleasure, creativity, sexuality and sensuality.

Physical: Hips, Pelvic, Lower Back, Lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, ovaries, womb.

How can we get balance: Movement, wiggle hips, dance!! water is the element because this area likes to flow! Explore your pleasures and passions in life.

Yoga Poses:

Utkata Konasana - Goddess Pose

Kapotasana - Pigeon Pose

Baddah Konasana - Folded Butterfly Pose

Manipura - Solar Plexus

Represented by a Yellow 10 petal lotus flower.

Element: Fire

Bija/Seed Mantra: Ram

Located: The abdomen, above the belly button

Emotional: Self Confidence, inner power, will power, gut feeling, boundaries, Anger, jelousy.

Physical: Stomach, gallbladder, liver, pancreas.

How do we get balance: Allow your inner light to shine, don't allow it to burn out by doing too much, but dont hide our light or allow it to go out

Yoga Poses:

Navasana - Boat pose

Utkatasana - Chair Pose

Surya Namaskar - Sun Salutations (See Surya namaska blog Here)

Anahata - Heart Chakra

Represented by a green 12 petal lotus flower. the star in the middle is actually two triangles, one triangle pointing energy down, and one triangle pointing energy up, thus representing perfect balance. The Heart Chakra is located in the centre of the chakras.

Element: Air

Bija/Seed Mantra: Yam

Located: Centre of the chest

Emotional: Love, Gratitude, Joy, Grief, Loss.

Physical: The lungs, heart, thymus gland, upper back, shoulders, arms, hands.

How do we get balance: Practice Gratitude, live your life from the heart. Place love from this energy centre into every other chakra.

Yoga Poses:

Purvottanasana - Reverse Plank Pose

Bhujangasana - Cobra Pose

Ustrasana - Camel Pose

Vishuddha - Throat Chakra

Element: Sound

Bija/Seed Mantra: Ham

Located: In the centre of the throat

Emotional: How we express our self, too much talking, too shy to speak up, listening, communication.

Physical: throat, mouth, jaw, ears, inner ear, thyroid gland.

How do we get balance: Speak your truth! Speak up for what you believe, but be open to listen to other ideas, and hearing other people's truth.

Yoga Exercises:

Mantra - Chanting or Sound

Salamba Sarvangasana - Shoulder Stand

Matsyasana - Fish pose

Ajna Chakra - 3rd Eye Chakra

Element: Light

Bija/Seed Mantra: Om

Located: Between the eyebrows

Emotional: This is the centre responsible for our inner vision, the ability to see where we want to go in life, it is our intuition, our wisdom our dreams.

Physical: Eyes, Pineal gland, Sleep, Sinus, Brain.

How do we get balance: Sourround our self with good light, we spend so mush time in un-natural light, go outside let the sun/day light through your eyes.

Yoga Exercises:

Balasana - Childs Pose

Visualisation Meditation - Yoga Nidra (Check out my blog on the benefits of Yoga Nidra Here)

Sahasrara - Crown Chakra

Element: Space

Bija/Seed Mantra: Om

Located: At the top of the head

Emotional: This is our spiritual connection but also our connection to the present moment. Enjoying the divine in everything around us. Enlightenment can happen all around us in every moment.

Physical: Pitituary gland, brain, feeling detached from the body.

How do we get balance: Practice mindfulness, stillness, connect to your spiritual practices such as praying, rituals, ceremony.

Yoga Exercises:

Shavasana - Corpse pose


You can learn more about the Chakras in my upcoming Chakra Restoration Workshop on September 26th in The River Holistic Centre , in Raheny.

199 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page